| |||||||
This is a discussion on I'm pretty sure this is dodgy, but... within the The Lounge forums, part of the Off Topic category; ...can you confirm for me?!! Got an email via my student email account (which virtually never gets spam) saying about ...
![]() |
| | Thread Tools |
| | #1 | |
| Currently: Moderating! | I'm pretty sure this is dodgy, but......can you confirm for me?!! Got an email via my student email account (which virtually never gets spam) saying about Uni grants. I'm pretty sure it's not legit or something. Email: Quote:
2: they had my home address 3: they emailed my Uni account which doesn't get spammed So amiright in saying it's a scam?!
__________________ Spoiler Free iPhone | Free iPhone | Free iPad 3 | Sign Define App | Freebie Proof Photo Blog Total Received: £7,446.87 plus Current Stats: 0 green 12 pending WIN an iPod Shuffle, XBox Live, Amazon or iTunes vouchers >> Free competition entry here << Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler | |
|
| | #2 |
| Looking for a new job!! | I received one yesterday saying the same thing. Definitely a scam.
__________________ |
|
| | #3 |
| blah blah blah | I think the clue that it came from belgium would have been enough, lol ProBoards Support - Scam doing the rounds. UKGrants.be
__________________ |
|
| | #4 |
| Mr Baldy Chicken | lol, I wonder if this is from a Who.is maybe??
__________________ |
|
| | #5 |
| Mini Mac |
__________________ ![]() Spoiler Tom Felton & David Bowie Fan Girl! Last edited by ElectroGirl; 28-05-10 at 11:43 AM.. |
|
| | #7 | |
| Mr Baldy Chicken | Quote: I would just like to say, it is not me!!!
__________________ | |
|
| | #8 | |
| blah blah blah | Quote:
__________________ | |
|
| | #9 |
| Super Moderator | ukgrants.be - why would a company offering a grant to uk students use a belgian domain?
__________________ Spoiler I'm available to guest post on your quality blog - any subject considered SEO Confusing? Help is here: Grass Roots SEO Visit my Sites: FREE rewards • FREE Consoles • Follow me on Twitter: @martinevansnet My Blog: Martin Evans • Latest post: SEO Ranking factors |
|
| | #10 |
| blah blah blah | That's what I said above, lol but there will aways be 1 or 2 that fall for these scams. I get them quite often telling me I have a tax rebate as well as the usual ones from banks that I don't belong to telling me to update my account...which I don't have.
__________________ |
|
| | #11 |
| iBook Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Brizzle
Posts: 2,689
![]() ![]() | yeh i got this too. its basically a spammer promoting a cpa affiliate offer, thats all lol ukgrants.be redirects to grantsdot.com/uk/?nats=NzE6Mzox,16,0,0,0&sub=104737 Last edited by sgll; 28-05-10 at 12:18 PM.. |
|
| | #12 |
| iPod 30gb Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,011
![]() | I got this too - really feel sorry for the people that fall for these |
|
| | #13 |
| iBook | I got this exact email (but with my name and address) and replied **** off you nigerian pussbag Last edited by oXoDCoXo; 28-05-10 at 05:04 PM.. |
|
| | #14 |
| Mini Mac | I'm just wondering who sold the information...
__________________ ![]() Spoiler Tom Felton & David Bowie Fan Girl! |
|
| | #15 |
| Call me Vlad Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: South London
Posts: 9,512
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | since you replied they will just spam you more cos they know your email account is active and being used
__________________ |
|
| | #16 |
| Call me Ben .... | I had this too, the fact it was poorly written with the name containing both non caps made me guess it was fake. ha
__________________ Last edited by bmh16; 28-05-10 at 07:41 PM.. |
|
| | #17 | |
| iPod Nano 4GB Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: My underground lair
Posts: 305
![]() | I'm pretty sure this is dodgy, but...Quote:
| |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| |