eXceem

Go Back   eXceem > The Recycle Bin > Old Forums > Old Networks > GiveAway Network

Claim your amazing £1,000 slots booster bonus now!


Dear Matt

This is a discussion on Dear Matt within the GiveAway Network forums, part of the Old Networks category; This is not connected to giveaway network by someone doing the site. I got an email from "imacgiveaway@gmail.com" with details ...

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-06, 12:56 PM   #1
iPod 20gb
 
Kello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 890
Kello is an unknown quantity at this point

Dear Matt


This is not connected to giveaway network by someone doing the site. I got an email from "imacgiveaway@gmail.com" with details on like a referral link to the imac site, saying i need to completed 1 offer and which was the best and that i needed to refer some friends to do the same. I thought i would sign up and see who referred me, i went to the my account and got "You were referred by mwhittle@gmail.com", matt whittle is the owner of the genius team network, i do not know how he got my email address but i would class this as spam.
I can provide screenshot proof if needed.
 
Old 03-06-06, 12:58 PM   #2
Mini Mac
 
Bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,543
Bazza is just really niceBazza is just really nice

Re: Dear Matt


eek, when was this?
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:01 PM   #3
iPod 20gb
 
Kello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 890
Kello is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


I got the email today (Date: 03-Jun-2006 12:51). The thing is my email is not public, its not on exceem or A4F, so where did he get my email address from?
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:03 PM   #4
iPod 60gb
 
drkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,880
drkul is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to drkul

Re: Dear Matt


are you signed up to any of the Genius Team websites?
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:04 PM   #5
iPod 20gb
 
Kello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 890
Kello is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


Quote:
Originally Posted by drkul
are you signed up to any of the Genius Team websites?
Yes i have.
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:06 PM   #6
iPod 20gb
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 952
pottageb has a spectacular aura about

Re: Dear Matt


Quote:
We use your name and address for the sole purpose of shipping free goods. We use your email address for verification purposes, and for communications between Xbox4free.co.uk and yourself. From time to time, we may use details provided when registering to contact users. We will never sell or disclose this information to third party advertisers without prior approval.
taken from GT privacy policy
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:09 PM   #7
iPod 60gb
 
rockykabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,594
rockykabir will become famous soon enough

Re: Dear Matt


If you are gonna spam...at lease use a fake name(!)
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:10 PM   #8
iPod 20gb
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 952
pottageb has a spectacular aura about

Re: Dear Matt


sorry off topic but..

Lol rocky i LOVE your work...

http://www.dothepetercrouch.com/crouchArt.html
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:10 PM   #9
iPod 20gb
 
Kello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 890
Kello is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


It seems he got it from the GT database, i cannot think of any other way he could have got my email address, i only give it out to friends and use it to sign up for freebie sites.
 
Old 03-06-06, 01:12 PM   #10
iPod 60gb
 
rockykabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,594
rockykabir will become famous soon enough

Re: Dear Matt


Quote:
Originally Posted by pottageb
sorry off topic but..

Lol rocky i LOVE your work...

http://www.dothepetercrouch.com/crouchArt.html

Thanx man
 
Old 03-06-06, 03:24 PM   #11
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 148
remf is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


Just to clarify, the email addresses did not come from the GT database. Obviously there's no way I can prove this to you, but I'm not going to debate it. Simple fact is they didn't.

I was playing around with an email harvester, which is basically a program which harvests email addresses from sites that you can search through. Your email address must have come up when I did a search through some of the freebie sites.

I apologise if I have offended you by 'spamming' you, and understand if Tab wishes to place me on hold considering you've taken the time and effort out of your presumably very busy day to come and post this here because it's clearly the first time you've received such an email and have clearly been affected by it to such an extent that you felt compelled to post here...

Rest assured, your email address is safe. It did not come from any of the GT databases, and you won't be receiving any more spam emails from me.
 
Old 03-06-06, 03:26 PM   #12
Administrator
 
Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,740
Miles has disabled reputation

Re: Dear Matt


i got the email aswell..
 
Old 03-06-06, 03:28 PM   #13
iPod 60gb
 
rockykabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,594
rockykabir will become famous soon enough

Re: Dear Matt


Quote:
Originally Posted by remf
yada yada yada

yea...right.....

I'm sorry mate.....it's a good thing you are not a politician - otherwise the country would have been in a right state(!)
 
Old 03-06-06, 04:15 PM   #14
iPod 60gb
 
drkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,880
drkul is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to drkul

Re: Dear Matt


lol rocky!!!!!

are email harvesters considered spam by networks?

some networks enforce rules against spammers more so than others, not to sure on giveaways stance on the matter.

Tab would you like to clarify it?

remf, were you posing as the giveaway network? because with the email address you have it looks like you were, surely that isnt a good tactic and you wouldnt want people doing the same on your network sites so maybe you shouldnt be doing it yourself, you know the saying, do unto others as you expect or whatever it is lol.
 
Old 03-06-06, 04:20 PM   #15
iPod 60gb
 
rockykabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,594
rockykabir will become famous soon enough

Re: Dear Matt


of course it didn't come from the GT database. It was just a program which picks up emails of those who had done a freebie site. Of course the chances of anyone who has joined a GT site is equal to someone who hasn't.......

I wonder why I didn't get one? is it because I didn't join a GT site?
 
Old 03-06-06, 04:24 PM   #16
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 148
remf is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


Like I said, I'm not going to debate it, as it's not worth it. Think and act as you like. I don't care either way.
 
Old 03-06-06, 04:31 PM   #17
Administrator
 
Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,740
Miles has disabled reputation

Re: Dear Matt


Hi everyone!

Do you need a new PC, but don't want to spend loads of money on it? Well now you can get the hottest Apple Mac out at the moment - the Apple iMac G5 completely free! Sounds too good to be true? It's not!
Simply follow these 3 easy steps and you'll receive a brand new Mac worth over 1000 pounds!

1. Click this link and create an account: REF LINK REMOVED

2. Complete ONE of their offers. I recommend either the Chit Chat Bingo or Jackpot Joy offer - both require a 10 pound deposit, but if you play your money right you can win easy money, plus get a free Mac!

3. Refer some friends to do exactly the same!

Once you've completed all the steps all you need to do is wait for your free iMac to show up. Not convinced? Just check out their 'proof' galleries for the many gifts they've already sent out. This is the most legitimate company offering 'free gifts' in the UK, and if you complete the 3 steps above, you will receive your free iMac G5! So good luck!

Click here for more information: REF LINK REMOVED
Thanks!
 
Old 03-06-06, 04:34 PM   #18
iPod 20gb
 
Kello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 890
Kello is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


The same as i got
 
Old 03-06-06, 04:36 PM   #19
iPod 60gb
 
drkul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,880
drkul is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to drkul

Re: Dear Matt


i have to admit i am surprised as i havent recieved an email, and i think i am signed up to almost all of the GT sites and remf's personal site, so im pretty sure it isnt from his database.

None the less, if you wouldnt tolerate this tactic for someone completing one of your sites its pretty lame to then do it yourself, especially with the kind of response you would give to someone asking why they have been put on hold, im sure it doesnt take a lot of imagination for some of us to think what that response would be like.
 
Old 03-06-06, 05:05 PM   #20
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 148
remf is an unknown quantity at this point

Re: Dear Matt


Like I said, it didn't come from the GT database. If you're worried it is, just send us a support ticket and we'll remove your details, and close your account.

I have nothing more to say on the matter.
 
 

Tags
dear, matt

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 PM.
All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Forum posts are owned by the poster.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO
no new posts