| |||||||
This is a discussion on Spam E-mail within the General Freebie Chat forums, part of the Freebie Chat category; Hi guys, Sorry if this has already been brought up before and likewise if anyone takes this as an accusation.. ...
![]() |
| | Thread Tools |
| | #1 |
| iPod Nano 1GB Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 36
![]() | Spam E-mailHi guys, Sorry if this has already been brought up before and likewise if anyone takes this as an accusation.. I signed up to the giveaway network last night and within a few hours of registering received a spam email (SA World Cup Lottery winner apparently!). Now i'm really anal with my email addy and never sign up to crap on it (I have a secondary email for dodgy websites) but I used my primary email last night as I wanted everything to be legit. I've never actually received spam on it before, and it struck me as a bit odd that the proximity between signing up and receiving the spam was so close. So my question is.. Do the owners of the incentive sites give out your email addy to spammers? Has anyone else noticed something similar happen to them? I know it's not a big deal really as I can just blacklist the spammer but am a bit disappointed if this were to be the case as I was under the impression that these site owners already make money off you and wouldn't need to sell your email addresses as well... And yeah, if I'm wrong about this then sorry guys! |
|
| | #2 |
| eXtra! | Re: Spam E-mailI have signed up to FJ and Giveaway, and have had no spam from them whatsoever. I dont know how or where these have come from for you, but i can honestly say hand on heart that i have had nothing unwanted after signing up B x |
|
| | #3 |
| iPod Nano 1GB Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Petersfield, Hampshire
Posts: 72
![]() | Re: Spam E-mailBeen a member of giveaway for over a year and never had spam from singing up to it. |
|
| | #4 |
| iPod 20gb Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Telford
Posts: 734
![]() | Re: Spam E-mailWhich offer did you do? Although the freebie site won't spam you, there's no saying the offer site won't (or am I wrong?)
__________________ |
|
| | #5 |
| iPod Nano 4GB Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 334
![]() | Re: Spam E-mailIt wont be from the freebie network i wouldnt have thought, you sure sites you're signed upto else where havent passed your details on. |
|
| | #6 |
| iPod 20gb Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 701
![]() | Re: Spam E-mailthe guy you signed up to may have entered you into loads of spam EDIT: Using a website such as this http://www.spamyourenemy.com/index.php Last edited by blokman; 11-05-08 at 04:13 PM.. |
|
| | #7 |
| iPod Nano 1GB Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 36
![]() | Re: Spam E-mailhmm well I signed up thru the ps3giveaway site so it would be weird if they were the ones who set me up for spam.. meh well no biggie it's probably just a mad coincidence anyways.. bomb scare over! sorry people edit: oh and I did the Coral offer (and blew all £5 on Derby beating Reading today.. foolish!) Last edited by eldesperado; 11-05-08 at 06:58 PM.. Reason: clarification |
|
| | #8 |
| MJ lady with maracas | Re: Spam E-mailI can vouch for Giveaway Network in that they wont pass on your email address to anyone to send spam, they have in the past ran email based newsletters as well as third party offers, but both of these were ran properly with the appropriate opt out stuff
__________________ |
|
| | #9 | |
| iPod Nano 1GB Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Petersfield, Hampshire
Posts: 72
![]() | Re: Spam E-mailQuote:
| |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| |